Analogue Installed

P1010705I have had a great few days in North Devon installing my sculpture at Broomhill and we managed to get both parts of the sculpture upright and leveled by the end of Monday. On Tuesday it was a matter of bolting them down, refilling the hole in the ground with a mixture of gravel and soil / clay to create some good drainage around the base of the piece. It was very peaceful in the sculpture gardens first thing (until I got my drill out of course!)  and this gave me an opportunity to stop and reflect on the process and luckily the sun was shining and this gave me exactly what I was hoping for from the sculpture. As the light filtered through the leaves on to the back of the work the acrylic transmitted the light to the front in waves mirroring the movement of the branches and leaves in the breeze. The effect was magical and the movement and shift in solidity from heavy oak to delicate light dancing across the surfaces was really exciting. Dappled light through trees has always inspired me because of its simple beauty and one of the many reasons that I keeping returning to wood as a material in my sculpture. Making this work has expanded my enjoyment of trees wood timber and given me new inspiration to make further works in this vein.

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fs_Wm3cSpzI

 

 

Leave a comment